3 weeks in, PIX News at Ten’s new format is still not welcomed


Since the changes to WPIX’s News at 10 went into effect on October 11th, Viewers are STILL infuriated that the changes wont be undone.

The new change in format includes the well-known anchoring team of Kaity Tong and Jim Watkins was broken up, Graphics looking like an iphone app and a public-access show and featured some reporters speeding through their stories.
The bottom line is it would no longer be a traditional newscast but a newscast on speed or ‘news on a fast lane’, the HLN network has had a success with this formula, but Pix’s version is basically like a summary of news lasting nothing more than 8 minutes leaving viewers wanting to know the full story and know the back-story or the issue presented in news reports without being left behind.

I was one of the viewers of Pix News at Ten, who feel frustrated with the new formatting changes and has made the switch to the only other newscast in town –WNYW’s ‘Fox 5 News at Ten’(until the News Corp/Cablevision dispute threw WNYW off the air for Cablevision subscribers.) I have since switched to watching the CBS 2 News at 5 and 6, and then catching the news via 1010 WINS or for International news via online on France 24 Tv and BBC World Service.

Since I first talked about this issue on October 15th, I have received many comments and emails about the changes at ‘Pix News at Ten’ from fellow angry viewers who were left out in the cold, Some were against the presenter of the weekday edition of the ‘Pix News at Ten’( which was renamed PIX11@ 10) Jodi Applegate and some are calling for the return of the old format. Some of their comments have said they will no longer watch WPIX at 10pm and has made the switch to Fox 5 News.

One Person, Mike wrote to me via replying to the post and said he can no longer watch news at 10pm because PIX’s changes and WNYW being off the air due to a dispute with WNYW’s parent News Corp :
“I can’t stand the new format. The show is chopped up nonsense, they seem to have demoted everyone who made the old 10 o’clock news great, even the video is awful. What is Kaity(Tong) doing interviewing someone in LIC( Long Island City), and why do I have to watch film of the back of her head? Didn’t anyone edit this? The AAMCO monkey-with-the-bat could do better. What moron came up with this? I can’t watch. And I can’t watch Fox 5 because I have Cablevision, so no more 10 o’clock news for me.”
Another Person, Tom P. wrote about the style of reporting and WPIX’s Commentators taking center stage: “I agree that the 10PM newcast(sic) at WPIX is a mess. I like Jodi Applegate, but not in this format, she is WAY too light. I like some of the reporters – Mocker, Howard, Mendte – but the format is a mess. Almos(sic) unwatchable.”
Bob Kurcharski replied to the story by saying “The new format is so awful that the station no longer merits viewing. There sould(sic) be a management change, not a change in personnel, save for Lionel.”

Of all the people who replied to the story published on the”Andy’s Cue” column on the Asnycnow Radio blog and on “The City & My Life” blog on WordPress, A.Cusamano, and Jeff were the most vocal. A Cusamano said: “At 10 pm we always turn on pix 11 news, always.Not any more. Pix news 11 can show all the positive news about the new format that it wants to,I and most people I know,do not like it, and I will not turn to pix news 11again.I truly regret this decison and really enyoyed pix11 in the past. WHAT IN HELL ARE YOU PEOPLE THINKING. “

And as for Jeff, he slammed the station management: “My wife and I have watched the PIX 11 news at 10pm nearly every night for more years than I can remember. After two nights watching the new format, we’ve switched to the Fox 5 news.
Whomever came up with the new format should be fired!!!
Bring back the old team PIX!!!!”

I want to say, to all the people , who commented on the articles, thank you very much for your opinions on the matter. I am truly appreciative of your comments.

However way WPIX wants to spin the publicity over the new ‘News at Ten” but myself and others out there are very displeased.

20 thoughts on “3 weeks in, PIX News at Ten’s new format is still not welcomed

  1. Yes, I agree. The new format is horrible. Difficult to guess if its a talk show or news. If they wanted to make any change, they should have removed Lionel and Menti. Both these guys are unbelievably annoying and they should keep their expert opinion to themselfes.

    Word of advice for these morans: ITS NEWS…Just report, dont create.

  2. I agree with everyone’s comments. Its amazing that someone came up with this lamebrain idea and someone else bought it. It’s lousy. I miss my PIX News because I can’t watch the mess that it currently is. Its like news for people on crack with ADD! As long as it looks this way with Jodi Applegate and Lionel and Mendte as annoying as they are, I will not be watching this calamity. I dont know why someone thought this was needed but I can tell you it aint working and you’re losing viewers like passengers on the Titanic.

    • On the upside, for cablevision users, WNYW returned so there is still an option for news at 10pm.

      in my opinion, WNYW will benefit from the changes at PIX, since no one likes the changes.

      PIX is still trying to spin this a s a positive change, despite them not actually telling themselves what viewers are actually saying about them

  3. I AGREE WITH THE ARTICLE AND THE COMMENTS. WHAT A HORRIBLE NEWS ( IF YOU CAN CALL IT NEWS) PROGRAM. I HAVE SWITCHED TO CHANEL 5 LOKE MANY OTHERS. MAYBE IF ENOUGH PEOPLE STOP WATCHING THEY WILL GET THE MESSAGE AND SWITCH BACK. TO RELAGATE JIM WATKINS TO DOING STANDUP NEWS ON THE WEEKEND IS A WASTE. PUTTING JACKIE HYLAND OUT ON THE STREET FOR A FEW MINUTES TWO OR THREE TIMES A WEEK IS ALSO A WASTE OF AN EXCELLENT ANCHOR. tHEY TOOK A GREAT NEWSCAST AND FLUSHED IT AWAY NOW IT IS OUR TURN TO FLUSH THE NEW PROGRAM AWAY. COME JOIN ME!

  4. Still can’t watch the new format and I can’t take Jodi Applegate’s voice for long periods of time. She would be much better with a co-anchor. Don’t like the green screen stuff – on the other hand I do like some of the reporters and segments. Mocker going after the MTA is fun to watch, help me Howard is good and some of the Mendte stuff is classic – but after seeing him on election night, I wish they would use him more on the set. Wish there was just a little more sports and the roundtable stuff is a waste of time

  5. i just watched pix news at 10 tonight .. they are horrible .. the way they present the news is horrible. I will never watch again. What happened to professional newscasting?

  6. i just watched pixnews at 10 and very disturbed by their unprofessional demeanor. I will never watch it again. What is with American news and their unprofessionalism?

  7. If Jim and Kaity were so beloved,where were all the viewers? Congrats to Bill Carey for having the guts to make a format change that provided a spark of energy that viewers will get to like in time. Watch the ratings climb.

  8. We watch PIX 11 eve news for years. The new format is still annoying and chaotic. Jodi Applegate is screetchy, cold and light – its a pleasure to see Jim on weekends back. We miss Katie who was warm and pleasant. The studio view gives the impression of construction site. Music is aggressive and annoying, too. A total flop.

  9. I am only sixteen years old but I have been watching PIX 11 since the damn frog was still on the air, WB Thursdays were still bringing in the ratings and Shannon Doherty was still on the air. I am so pissed at the fact that Kaity and Jim don’t speak throughout the show. They made the entire thing. What makes me even more upset is the fact that people DESPISE this damn new format, yet, after months PIX has not made the switch back. I know you’re losing viewers, you’re ratings suck. So what in god’s name, are you waiting for?! Your producers should be fired immediately.

  10. I started watching PIX11 @ 10pm to get an insight on issues that effect Connecticut also. I live in CT and never watched PIX so did in October 2010. Since the seven months it has been on television with the changes, it seems to have fallen off the interest mode. It now is boring and trying to get Lionel, Mente and Mocker as a big part of the interest mode, that is boring in some ways.

    Sorry to see what may have been a good idea seems to go sour.

  11. Jackie Hyland was the best thing about PIX News. She is so polished and classy. Without her PIX news is garbage. Good luck Jackie.

  12. I used to be a big fan of pix11 news every morning but as soon as they had Lionel speak after every story I stopped watching completely. He is too annoying early in the morning and I cant take their news seriously. Pix11 news is now the worst and wish they would do something to fix it soon or all of their fans will be gone.

Leave a Reply

